OSA Awards

OSA awards 2017 – Call for Nomination


Like previous years, this year OSA is inviting its members to nominate the deserving candidates for the OSA awards in various categories. We would like to request Chapter representatives and local Odia community leaders (where OSA chapter doesn’t exist) to circulate the following information in their local community networks.


Click here for the Awards Guidelines


Following are the Award categories.


Nomination Based OSA Awards (Submission Deadline March 31st, 2017)


      1. Distinguished Odia Award (Nomination Form)
      2. Utkalamani Gopabandhu Das Memorial Award (Nomination Form)
      3. Arun Das Memorial Kalashree Award (Nomination Form)
      4. Youth Volunteer Award (Nomination Form)
      5. Yuva Kala Vikas Award (Nomination Form)


Following three awards are open to all odia youth whose parents need not be OSA members


      1. Subrina Biswal Award for Academic Excellence (Nomination Form)
      2. Meghna Memorial Awards for Creative Writing (Mail articles to osaawards2017@gmail.com  submission deadline April 20th, 2017)
      3. Samik Singh Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Award (Detailed Information, submission deadline May 1st, 2017)


The deadline for sending the nominations for OSA awards is March 31st, 2017. This date has been chosen to make sure that the Award Committee will get adequate time for the judging process and the recipient will get reasonable amount time to plan to attend the convention personally to receive the award. The deadline is final and not subject to change.


Mrs. Anjana Chowdhury of  MD, USA has graciously agreed to lead the Award Committee with Mrs. Eva Mohanty and Mrs. Swapnalata Rath for the year 2017.


Nominations for all awards (except for Meghna Memorial Award and Samik Singh Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Award) should be sent to Award Coordinators at osaawards2017@gmail.com with a copy to the Awards Committee members: Anjana Choudhury (anjachow@hotmail.com), Eva Mohanty (evamohanty@gmail.com) and Swapna Rath (swapna_rath@comcast.net).


Awards requiring documentary proofs such as recommendation letters for Subrina Biswal Award for Academic Excellence (Competition) must be mailed by US/Canada post to Mrs. Anjana Choudhury, 20612 Summer Sweet Terrace, Germantown, MD 20876.


Articles for Meghna Memorial Award must be mailed to souvenir@odishasociety.org. The deadline for submission is April 20th, 2017


Samik Singh Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Awards the Phase 1 business plan must be mailed to info@kalingaventures.org. The deadline for submission is May 1st, 2017. For further information on Samik Singh Kalinga Youth Entrepreneurship Awards, please visit http://www.kalingaventures.org/whatwedo.php#bpc


Please check  out OSA Award web page for full/other details  http://www.odishasociety.org/osa-awards/